Diaporthales » Diaporthaceae¬†


Diaporthe Nitschke

Index Fungorum number: IF1497; 450 morphological species (Species Fungorum 2020), 261
species with sequence data.

Type species: Diaporthe eres Nitschke

Notes: Diaporthe is the type genus of Diaporthaceae, and it was established by Nitschke (1867) to accommodate taxa with stromata in the Sphaeriales which are often with blackened zones in the substrate, ellipsoid to fusiform ascospores and enclosed, unilocular pycnidia that contain spermatia, stylospores and conidia (Wehmeyer 1933). Diaporthe species are saprobes, pathogens and endophytes and have a worldwide distribution (Dissanayake et al. 2017). Phomopsis was earlier the asexual morph (Udayanga et al. 2012). However, these genera were linked based on principle of significance and Diaporthe was nominated over Phomopsis to resolve nomenclatural complications (Rossman et al. 2015). The genus contains 1067 epithets listed in Index Fungorum 563 (August 2019), but fewer than 200 species are accepted (Dissanayake et al. 2017).


Freshwater species: Diaporthe aquatica Hu et al.



Dissanayake AJ, Phillips AJ, Hyde KD, Yan JY, Li XH. 2017 – The current status of species in Diaporthe. Mycosphere 8, 1106–1156.

Luo ZL, Hyde KD, Liu JK, Maharachchikumbura SSN et al. 2019 – Freshwater Sordariomycetes. Fungal Diversity 99, 451–660.

Nitschke T. 1867 – Pyrenomycetes Germanici. Breslau 1, 1–160.

Rossman AY, Adams GC, Cannon PF, Castlebury LA et al. 2015 – Recommendations of generic names in Diaporthales competing for protection or use. IMA Fungus 6, 145–154.

Udayanga D, Liu XZ, Crous PW, McKenzie EHC et al. 2012 – A multi-locus phylogenetic evaluation of Diaporthe (Phomopsis). Fungal Diversity 56, 157–171.

Wehmeyer LE. 1933 – The British species of the genus Diaporthe Nits. and its segregates. Trans Br Mycol Soc 17, 237–295.


About Freshwater Fungi

The webpage Freshwater Fungi provides an up-to-date classification and account of all genera of freshwater fungi.


Published by the Mushroom Research Foundation 
Copyright © The copyright belongs to the Mushroom Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.